Small Young Innovator Award is open for nominations!

Dear Professors,

The 2021 Small Young Innovator Award is now open for nominations!

The Small Young Innovator Award recognizes outstanding, interdisciplinary scientific work in the development and fundamental understanding of nanoscience and nanotechnology by young scientists and engineers. The award recipients must also show exceptional promise as developing leaders in the areas of nanoscience and nanotechnology.


Two investigators will be selected, and each of them will be awarded with a certificate and USD $1,000.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

1. The nominee shall not have reached his/her 41st birthday by the time the award is received (Aug. 29, 2021).

2. The award will be presented to individual investigators who have conducted innovative interdisciplinary research demonstrating high levels of excellence and distinction in the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

3. The award winner will be selected on the basis of the outstanding quality, novelty and significance of the candidate’s research.

Establishment and Support

The 2021 award is supported by Wiley and will be issued during the 6th Small Sciences Symposium (Aug. 29, 2021) in ChinaNANO 2021 conference organized by The National Center for Nanoscience and Technology.

Nomination Process

Nominations for the “Small Young Innovator Award” must be submitted directly to by June 15, 2021. Peer- and organizational- nominations are welcome, subject to the nominee agreeing to the nomination.

The Submitted Nomination Package Must Include

(1) A nomination letter (1 page)

(2) Curriculum Vitae (2-pages maximum) including birth date.

(3) List of significant publication history (2-pages maximum)

(4) Research summary statement highlighting key research discoveries and their impact (1 page)

(5) Letters of support from two established scientists familiar with the nominee’s qualifications and area of research.

The decision of the award committee is final and no enquiries will be entertained.

We look forward to receiving your nominations by June 15, 2021.

Previous Awardees

(at the years when they were awarded)

Hua Zhang Professor at the School of Materials Science and Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Ali Khademhosseini Professor at Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, USA

Xiaodong Chen Associate Professor at the School of Materials Science and Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Yi Cui Associate Professor at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Stanford University, USA

Guihua Yu Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Texas at Austin, USA   

Xinliang Feng Professor at the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Dresden University of Technology, Germany

Yan Yu Professor at Department of Material Science and Engineering in University of Science and Technology of China, China

Hailin Peng Professor at College of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering, Peking University, China

Liangbing Hu Professor at Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland, USA

Zhen Gu Professor at Department of Bioengineering, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

With our best regards,

The organizing committee of Small Sciences Symposium